• Urban Educator logo

Fayette County and Phoenix Union Joins Council

  • The Council of the Great City Schools recently added Kentucky’s Fayette County Public Schools and Arizona’s Phoenix Union High School  District to its ranks, bringing the number of urban public school districts represented by the Council to 77.  

    Fayette County Public Schools serves more than 40,000 students in the Lexington metropolitan area and is led by Demetrus Liggins, who has served as superintendent since July 2021. The district has 55 schools and is the second largest school system in Kentucky.

    The Phoenix Union High School District serves more than 23,000 students in 23 high schools and is led by Chad Gestson, who has served as superintendent since 2015.