• Urban Educator logo

Nine Finalists Named for Top Award in Urban Education Leadership

  • Nine standout superintendents have been selected to compete for the nation’s top award in urban education leadership. But only one will be named the Urban Educator of the Year.

    The winner will be honored by their peers at the Council of the Great City Schools’ 66th Annual Fall Conference, Oct.19-23 in Orlando, Fla.

    The nine superintendents will be vying for the top prize at the 33rd Annual Green-Garner Awards Banquet. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in urban education leadership and is presented to an urban school superintendent and board member in alternative years.

    Sponsored by the Council and Scholastic, the global children’s publishing, education, and media company, the top prize is given each year in memory of Richard R. Green, the first African American chancellor of the New York City school system, and businessman Edward Garner, who served on the Denver school board.

    The 2022 finalists are superintendents:

    Addison Davis, Hillsborough County Public Schools;

    Joe Gothard, Saint Paul Public Schools;

    Diana L. Greene, Duval County Public Schools;

    Guadalupe Guerrero, Portland Public Schools;

    Millard House II, Houston Independent School District;

    Jesus F. Jara, Clark County School District;

    Sean McDaniel, Oklahoma City Public Schools;

    Marty Pollio, Jefferson County Public Schools; and

    Nikolai P. Vitti, Detroit Public Schools Community District

    The winner of the award receives a $10,000 college scholarship to present to a student from their school district. Last year’s winner was Marta Pérez, school board member for Miami-Dade County Public Schools.