• Urban Educator logo

Urban Teachers Receive Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science

  • Torri Martin and Keri Meador are both teachers in the Jefferson County Public Schools in Louisville, Ky., who love teaching and motivating their students to be successful. They also have something else in common: they are the recipients of the 2020 Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST). Torri Martin

    The PAEMST is an annual award that is the highest recognition from the United States government that a K-12  science, technology, engineering, mathematics or computer science teacher can receive for outstanding teaching. Established by Congress in 1983, teachers from all 50 states and Washington D.C. are eligible to be recognized. Up to 108 educators are recognized by the President of the United States each year.

    Martin has been an educator for the past seven years and is in her third year of teaching eighth grade mathematics at the J. Graham Brown School, where she also serves as the mathematics department chair.

    Meador is serving in her 19th year at Central High School, where she teaches biology, advanced placement biology and forensic science for grades 11 and 12. Keri Meador

    Also receiving a PAEMST were urban teachers in Des Moines, Albuquerque, Charlotte, Washington, D.C., Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Minneapolis, St. Louis, Omaha, Portland, Ore., San Diego, Jacksonville, Florida’s School District of Palm Beach County and Nevada’s Clark County School District.

    Two teachers in Washington D.C., Portland, Hawaii and Clark County were honored.

    Since 1983 the PAEMST has been compiling a network of outstanding educators from across the nation by awarding teachers for their outstanding performances and achievements. More than 5,000 teachers have been recognized since the awards inception. These teachers reflect the expertise and dedication of the nation’s teaching corps by demonstrating the positive impact an excellent teacher can have on student achievement.

    Presidential awardees receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.