• Urban Educator logo

Eleven Finalists Vie for Top Urban Education Award

  • Finalists for the top award in urban-education leadership – 11 school board members in all -- will be announced the evening of Oct. 24, and one will be recognized as Urban Board Member of the Year.

    The winner of the Green-Garner Award will be honored at a ceremony during the Council of the Great City Schools’ 63rd Annual Fall Conference October, 23-27 in Louisville, Ky. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in urban education leadership and is presented to an urban school board member one year and an urban superintendent the next year.

    The 2019 finalists are school board members:

    Frank Barbieri, The School District of Palm Beach County;

    Eve Bolton, Cincinnati Public Schools;

    Larry Feldman, Miami-Dade County Public Schools;

    Rene Flowers, Pinellas County Public Schools;

    Kathleen Gordon, Orange County Public Schools;

    Allegra “Happy” Haynes, Denver Public Schools;

    Sheril Logan, Wichita Public Schools;

    Mary T. McCray, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools;

    Ashley Paz, Fort Worth Independent School District;

    Diane Porter, Jefferson County Public Schools; and

    Jacinto Ramos, Fort Worth Independent School District.

    The award is named in memory of urban school leaders Richard R. Green, the first African-American chancellor of the New York City school system, and businessman Edward Garner, a former president of the board of the Denver Public Schools.

    The award is sponsored by the Council, ARAMARK Education, Scholastic Inc. and Cenergistic Inc. 

    The winner will receive a $10,000 college scholarship to be presented to a student.

    Alberto Carvalho, superintendent of Miami-Dade County Public Schools, was honored in 2018.

  • Click the i to read the photo captions.