• Green-Garner Award

     Richard Green
    Each year at its annual Fall Conference, the Council presents a board member or superintendent with the Green-Garner Award, the nation's highest urban education honor recognizing outstanding contributions in urban education and named in memory of urban school leaders Richard R. Green and Edward Garner.
    Sponsored by the Council, ARAMARK Education and Scholastic, Inc., the Green-Garner Award is the namesake of the first African American chancellor of the New York City school system and a businessman and former school board president of the Denver Public Schools, respectively.

    Edward Garner The 2017 winner of the Green Garner award was Felton Williams, a school board member from California’s Long Beach Unified School District. Williams has been on the Long Beach Board of Education for more than 13 years, serving multiple terms as president and vice president of the 75,000-student school system's policymaking body. He has led efforts to improve student academic performance, including the planning of the district's Academic and Career Success Initiative. He developed a program to increase the number of students of color pursuing Advanced Placement courses and exams, and recommended adoption of an ethnic studies program in partnership with California State University, Long Beach. The former college dean is also the immediate past chair of the Council of the Great City Schools' Board of Directors. Click here to read the press release. 

    Felton Williams
    Felton Williams accepts the Green-Garner award at the Council's 61st Annual Fall Conference in Cleveland in 2017.

    Richard R. Green Award Winners

    1989  W. Harry Davis, Retired Member Minneapolis School Board
    1990   Timothy Dyer, Superintendent Phoenix Union High School District 
                James Griffin, Retired Member St. Paul School Board
    1991  Paul Houston, Superintendent Tucson Unified School District
    1992  Richard Wallace Jr., Superintendent 
    Pittsburgh Public Schools
    1993  Constance Clayton, Superintendent School District of Philadelphia
    1994  Holmes Braddock, Board Member Miami-Dade County Public Schools
    1995  Curman Gaines, Superintendent St. Paul Public Schools
    1996  James Williams, Superintendent Dayton Public Schools
    1997  Maxine Smith, Retired Member Memphis City School Board
    1998  Gerry House, Superintendent Memphis City Public Schools
    1999  Rod Paige, Superintendent Houston Independent School District
               Judith Farmer, Board Member  Minneapolis Public Schools
    2000  Eric Smith, Superintendent Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
    2001  Barbara Byrd Bennett, Superintendent      Cleveland Municipal School District
    2002  John Simpson, Superintendent Norfolk Public Schools
    2003  Arthur Griffin, Board Member Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools
               Franklin Till, Superintendent Broward County Public Schools
    2004  Tom Payzant, Superintendent Boston Public Schools
    2005  Anna Dodson, Board Member Norfolk Public Schools
    2006  Beverly Hall, Superintendent Atlanta Public Schools
    2007  Elizabeth Reilinger, Board Member Boston Public Schools
    2008  Pascal Forgione, Superintendent Austin Independent School District
    2009  Emmet Johnson, Board Member Atlanta Public Schools
    2010  Arlene Ackerman, Superintendent School District of Philadelphia
    2011 Candy Olson, Board Member Hillsborough County Public Schools
    2012 Carol Johnson, Superintendent Boston Public Schools
    2013 Denise Link, Board Member Cleveland Metropolitan School District
    2014 Terry Grier, Superintendent Houston Independent School District
    2015 William (Bill) Isler, Board Member Pittsburgh Public Schools
    2016 Eric Gordon, CEO Cleveland Metropolitan School
    2017 Felton Williams, Board Member Long Beach Unified School District